SEPTEMBER 7, 2009, Chicago, Illinois.

The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design and Metropolitan Arts Press Ltd. and co-presented by The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies, announce ninty-seven (97) new distinguished projects and urban schemes selected in this year’s prestigious International Architecture Awards® program for 2009.
Given the record numbers of entries this year and the widest geographic distribution of buildings worldwide, The International Architecture Awards have become a global event of an unprecidented scale—the most important barometer for the future direction of new architectural design and thinking today—celebrating, recognizing, and highlighting the world’s foremost architectural solutions for the designs of new skyscrapers, corporate buildings, institutions, arts facilities, airports, private homes, industrial structures, and urban planning projects from London to Singapore.

For the 2009 International Architecture Awards , the Museum received hundreds of submissions from design firms in Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and the Americas. The submissions ranged from the latest new corporate high-tech headquarters to smaller planning projects, bridges, memorials, sacred spaces, and private residences. All submitted projects were designed by architects in their respective countries of origin or abroad for both built and unbuilt projects alike, as of January 1, 2006.
This year’s jury for awards took place in Helsinki, Finland under the auspices of the Finnish Association of Architects (SAFA) and included some of the most influential design minds in Finland:
• Rainer Mahlamäki, President, Finnish Association of Architects (SAFA), Helsinski, Finland and Principal, Architects Lahdelma & Mahlamäki, Helsinki, Finland
• Kaj Forsblom, Galerie Forsblom, Heksinki, Finland
• Kivi Sotamaa, Principal of SOTAMMA DESIGN, Ltd. and Visiting Professor, Department of Architecture, UCLA, Los Angles, California, USA
• Anne Stenros, Vice President/Design Director, KONE Ojy., Espoo, Finland
• Ilkka Suppanen, Architect/Designer, Studio Suppanen, Helsinki, Finland and Professor, University of Art and Design Helsinki, Finland
• Markku Valkonen, Director, EMMA Espoo Museum of Modern Art, Espoo, Finland
The International Architecture Awards are curated and organized by Christian K. Narkiewicz-Laine, the Finnish Architecture Critic and President, The Chicago Athenaeum and assisted by Lary L. Sommers, Director of Administration/Marketing and Ioannis Karalias, Museum Vice President, The Chicago Athenaeum, and Kieran Conlon, Director/COO from the European Centre for Architecture, Art, Design, and Urban Studies.
The geographic range in this year’s Awards Program attests to the global significance of this program organized by The Chicago Athenaeum and The European Centre.
Out of the ninty-seven (97) projects selected for awards, The United States received the highest number of thirteen (13) awards followed by China with eight(8) and Japan and Great Britain with seven (7) and Germany having six (6) awards. The Netherlands, Brazil, Italy, Canada won four (4) awards each.
Australia won three awards, while Vietnam, Portugal, South Africa, Taiwan, Austria, Ireland, France, and Slovenia were given two (2) awards each. Single awards were given to Korea, United Arab Emirates, Switzerland, Latvia, Denmark, Iran, Luxembourg, Uganda, Burkino Faso, and Indonesia.
Those winning firms include:
· Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture (USA),
· AGC Design Ltd. (Hong Kong),
· Airmas Asri (Indonesia),
· Alsop Architects (UK),
· Architecton/Akira Yoneda (Japan),
· ARX Portugal Aquitectos (Portugal),
· Atelier Brückner (Germany),
· Bjarke Ingels Group (Denmark),
· Baumschlager Eberle Louchau (Switzerland),
· Bruno Deslandes-ARCHItravs (Latvia),
· Bucholz McEvoy Architects Ltd. (Ireland),
· China Architecture Design & Research Group (China), Claudio Silvestrin Architects (UK),
· de Architekten Cie (The Netherlands),
· Dekleva Gregorc Architekti (Slovenia),
· Diamond and Schmitt Architects (Canada),
· DL-WAA-OA (Canada),
· Dorner/Mat Architekten (Austria),
· Edward Suzuki Associates (Japan),
· Elliott + Associates Architects (USA),
· FAREstudio (Italy),
· GRAFT Architects (Germany),
· Gustafson Porter (UK),
· Harry Seidler & Associates (Australia),
· Hideki Yoshimatsu + Archipro Architects (Japan),
· Hotson Bakker Boniface Haden architects + urbanistes (Canada),
· IAD International Architecture (Spain),
· Ingenhoven Architects (Germany),
· Isay Weinfeld Arquitectura (Brazil),
· J. Mayer H. Architects (Germany),
· KieranTimberlake (USA),
· Kojo Tsutsui Architect and Associates (Japan),
· Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects (Canada),
· LAN Architecture (France),
· LOOK Architects (Singapore),
· Louise Braverman (USA),
· Luca Medici studio M2R atelier d’architettura (Italy),
· Lyn Rice Architects (USA),
· MCA Mario Cucinella (Italy),
· Mark Cavagnero Associates (USA),
· Mecanno Architecten (The Netherlands),
· Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos (Spain),
· Noero Wolff Architects (South Africa),
· N+B Architectes (France),
· querkraft zt GmbH (Austria),
· Randall Stout Architects (USA),
· Realarchitektur (Germany),
· Sadar Vuga Arhitekti doo (Slovenia),
· Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners (UK),
· SCDA Architects Pte. Ltd. (Singapore),
· Sean Godsell Architects (Australia),
· Shay Cleary Architects (Ireland), Skidmore, Owings & Merrill (USA),
· Studio MK27 (Brazil),
· Souto Moura Arquitectos SA (Spain),
Tarh O. Amayesh (Iran),
· Van der Merwe Miszewski Architects (South Africa),
· Vo Trong Nghia Co. (Vietnam),
· WOHA Designs Pte. Ltd. (Singapore),
· wsp architects (China),
· XTEN Architecture (USA), and
· Zaha Hadid Architects (UK).
The awarded projects for 2009 form an exhibition, “New International Architecture” to open during the November 2009 symposium entitled, “The City and the World.” The symposium is organized by The Chicago Athenaeum and The European Centre and sponsored by the Municipality of Florence and the School of Architecture in Florence at the SESV Santa Verdiana this November. After Florence, the exhibition of awarded buildings will tour inside Europe.
A catalogue accompanies the exhibition and publishes all 97 awarded projects: “New International Architecture: The City and the World” edited by Mr. Narkiewicz-Laine and published by Metropolitan Arts Press Ltd.
All Awarded Projects for 2009 are viewed on The European Centre’s website at or .
The 2010 deadline for submissions for The International Architecture Awards is DECEMBER 1, 2009 for buildings designed and/or built between 2007-2009.
Entry forms are available by calling the Museum at +815/777-4444 or by FAX at +815/777-2471 or on line at or .
For more information or photographs for publication, contact The European Centre at TEL/FAX: +353 (0) 1 670 8781 or email: See e-posti aadress on spämmirobotite eest kaitstud. Selle nägemiseks peab su veebilehitsejas olema JavaSkript sisse lülitatud.